Petay and FIP

If any of jbscat’s blog reader here have followed our journey from Instagram, you’d know that one of my adopted cat, Petay, suffered with FIP (Feline Infectious Peritonitis). On early June of 2019, I took Petay to the vet and it turns out that she was far more than healthy at all. Her Rivalta test was positive and from that moment, my day has turn upside down. Petay suffered with FIP wet types and her belly was already huge at that time. I was preparing myself for the worst since I realized that I took her to the vet too late but also still giving my all to do whatever it takes (in my capacity) to help Petay.

Petay #PetayTheCat on May 2020

I don’t know if you have known about the update of Petay yet, but here’s the spoiler: she’s survived and still with me today.

When I am still treating Petay with her FIP, some people asked me about what I am giving to her to help. I was not sure back then because we are still fighting. But now I think I can share it to the world. Please, note that this is what I have done to Petay when treating her FIP. I don’t know which one’s that do the magic so I won’t pushed everyone who has a cat that’s suffering with FIP to do the exact same thing. This is just sharing, anyway.

So let’s start with everything which I was “forcing” her to consume:

  1. Transfer Factor Tri-Factor Formula & Transfer Factor Plus Tri-Factor Formula

When Petay’s test result shown that she is positive have FIP, vet told me to buy Transfer Factor and give it to her. I already have two types of this supplement at home (I bought it for late Dobby) so I asked the vet about how many should I give. Vet told me that I can give to Petay one capsule of each every day. And I did.

Transfer Factor Plus Tri-Factor Formula & Transfer Factor Tri-Factor Formula

Both of this supplement is in capsule so I have to forcefed her. Thankfuly she was very cooperative and it really helped. When her condition was at the lowest, I gave Petay both of this. One capsule of Transfor Factor Tri-Factor Formula and one capsule of Transfer Factor Plus Tri-Factor Formula. These days, I gave both of this supplement once a week to her.

This kind of supplement is not cheap so I hope if anyone wanted to try to give it for their pets too, please, buy from the original seller. There are many cheaper options but it usually illegal or faux so, you have to be wise and cautious. I usually buy from the original company (4Life). You can ask me about their newest pricelist. If you find any of this product being sold outside with cheaper price from the company, you should be aware that most likely it is faux product.

  1. Albumin

I have posted on Instagram (you can read it here) about the benefits of albumin. But, I also have a reference if you want to read more about the impotance of albumin for cats: click here.  As far as I know, FIP virus will attack large abdominal organs first and usually cats with FIP has lower albumin in their system. Correct me if I’m wrong so you can check on this again to the vet. When Petay condition is at the lowest, I gave one capsule of albumin to her each day. When she got better, it went down to once every other day. These days she only have to consumed albumin once to twice every week.

  1. Vitamin C
vitamin C IPI

When Petay was at her lowest, vet told me to gave Petay vitamin C everyday. I gave her 4 tablets of IPI Vitamin C everyday (2 tablets in the morning and 2 tablets at night). One tablet of IPI Vitamin C contain 50 mg of vitamin C. As Petay got better, I also lower the dosage. Now she only have to eat this once to twice a week.

  1. Vitamin B Complex
vitamin B Complex IPI

With many liquids filled with viruses inside her belly, it was normal if she also does not have any appetite at all. One of the way to help her to gained her appetite is by giving her Vitamin B Complex. I gave her one tablet of vitamin B complex each day when she did not have any appetite at all. One tablet contain 2 mg of vitamin B1, 2 mg of vitamin B2, 2 mg of vitamin B6, 10 mg of Calcium Pantothenate, and 20 mg of Nicotinamide. When she started to eat by herself, I gave her B complex once every three days. Now I gave her this once to twice a week along with vitamin B12.

  1. Herbafit or Curcuma Plus or Scott’s Emulsion
Herbafit All-in-one supplement for pets

Curcuma is also something to give when the cats started to lose any appetite. In Petay’s case, she has completely lost her appetite. She did not want to eat anything. I have to forcefed her everyday at that time three to fours times a day and each time I only managed to put around 5 to 6 syringes of food. If you are in Indonesia, you can buy a pet’s supplement named Herbafit. It contain extracted curcuma, just put 5 to 10 drops of Herbafit, mixed it with their food. Sometimes I put three to five drops inside Petay’s drinking water too when she was still under emergency quarantine room due to FIP at home. Or you can also buy a human kid’s supplement which contained curcuma and fish oil too. It works the same for the cats.

  1. VCO

The vet never mentioned about VCO. But I believe that one of VCO’s benefit is that it has anti-virus property to help the body fighting any kinds of viruses. I gave Petay 1 ml of VCO each day when she was weak. These days I only mix VCO with her weekly wetfood portion. When Petay was weak, she also got dehydrated. I also bought a fresh green coconut and gave the water to her daily with a syringe. For more about VCO you can read it here.

  1. Nutri-Plus Gel

When Petay was weak and did not have any appetite, I know her body still need enough (or even more) good nutrient to fight the sickness. So, I gave her a corn sized of Nutri-Plus Gel at noon then again at night. You can read more about the product here.

  1. Taurine

I actually have no idea why I gave Petay this but I just wanted for her to be healthy again so I gave her all the vitamins I have for her. Actually, I also gave her lysine back then. But a vet said that a cat with FIP is actually prohibited to consumed lysine. So I am not recommending any of you to give your cats with FIP some lysine.

  1. Immune booster (Imboost or Stimuno)
Imboost Force syrup type

When a body is having a virus, the first thing it destroy is the immune system. So, I tried my best to build back Petay’s immune system by giving her an immune booster. It can be Imboost or Stimuno (syrup type – for kids).

Petay #PetayTheCat

When Petay was very ill, the food I provide for her was a soft food (it could be a/d Urgent Care from Science Diet or Recovery canned food from Royal Canin. I sometimes mixed it with chicken broth then added the curcuma and VCO with it.

And the important part is: TAKE PETAY TO THE VET. After she was diagnosed with FIP, I kept going back and forth to the animal clinic almost every week with her. Petay has a wet type FIP, this means the liquid inside her belly has to be sucked out. And it can only be done with the help of professional veterinary. Regular check up and be on schedule when it comes to fluid discharge procedure is very important. Petay has undergo this procedure too many times. She went under the procedure while fully awake and I have to witness everything since Petay only cooperate when she’s inside my arms. It was not easy both for me and Petay. I remember those days like it was yesterday.

Vet also prescribed some medication for Petay at that time. So yes, Petay has to consumed around 10 capsules/tablets every day with added 5 different liquid types of different supplements. It was a 24/7 care and I am grateful that Petay took it very well.

I hope this helps.

I believe if this happened to Petay, the same miracle could also happened to other cats. The vet who handle Petay’s case is also amazed by how much progress Petay has made until now. No one know what happened but all we know that Petay is happy and doing very good and I guess it’s all that matter.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment