About Virgin Coconut Oil (VCO)

I just known about the amazing Virgin Coconut Oil last year. So, it’s been only a year but ever since I know about it, I never let it go and so much in my life that has change. Not only for my own health, but also for my cats! VCO is always my holy grail. Some of you that follow my cats’ activities on Instagram have known that I also selling out VCO for #buytodonate campaign. All the profits from selling the VCO would be used to feed the stray cats on me and my partner’s neighbourhood. It’s not because we sell it that I wrote this post so people would buy. It is because many people asked me about the benefit and how to use VCO for the pets. I always ask them to search for the answer online because I also did find myself the answer from Google though. And there are already many many articles that written about VCO and all of the benefit of it..but still, people keep asking. LOL. So here it is I hope I can summarize it all here.

 

Coconut oil, and/or copra oil, is an edible oil extracted from the kernel or meat of mature coconuts harvested from the coconut palm. It has various applications (Source: Wikipedia). Some made from coconut, some from copra (sundried coconut). Both had to be a mature coconut. There are many ways to processed this type of natural oil. I know some people here in Indonesia from organic community who produces and makes Virgin Coconut Oil and sell it. All of them different type of processes to make their final product. But all of them are already great, much better than palm oil (of course! #saynotopalmoil). The less best one usually become a CCO or Coconut Cooking Oil, which is a coconut oil that mainly use for cooking. In my humble opinion, the best ever Extra Virgin Coconut Oil are the one who use what they call as cold-processed. Cold processed mean that the oil made from the natural processed without any heat involved. I bought one before and it works the best. But the price are really expensive I haven’t buy the new bottle since it is too expensive! But if you want to try, just remember to ask the person who sell it about the process that use to make the VCO. Usually they are open about it especially if they are the farmer themselves.

 

What I use for my cats then and now are the VCO which derived from a cold-pressed (not cold processed). It works amazing but trust me if you have tried the cold processed one you will definitely know the difference that I’m talking about. But then just like I said, any kinds of coconut oil are wonderful and heaven made. I am so grateful for coconut! #allhailcoconut

 

I got this from wellnessmama.com:

  • “Coconuts are an excellent source of nutrition and have healthful meat, juice, and oil. The oil is arguably the most nutritious and has many health benefits. Coconut oil is over 90% saturated fat and has antimicrobial, antibacterial, and antifungal properties.
  • Coconut oilalso has antioxidant properties and it helps in the absorption of other minerals.
  • Coconut oil is an incredible source of medium chain fatty acids (MCFAs), which have been shown to have many health benefits.
  • Lauric acid in coconut oil in combination with oregano oil,  has even been found more effective in fighting the staph bacteria than antibiotics. Lauric acid has also been shown to be preventative against some cancers. Coconut Oilis over 40% lauric acid, the richest source naturally available.”

It said that they’ve used coconut oil for their pets for years and turns out that coconut oil can help aid pets’ digestion, improve their coats, help prevent infection and more. Carnivorous animals like cats and dogs would have consumed a high amount of saturated fat in the wild and the beneficial fats in coconut oil are a great way to make sure they are getting enough in their diets. For more info you click the link here and read more about VCO on their page!

There are many testimonies and articles about VCO for humans and animals, just like I said. Just search it on the internet! They have lots of it whether in Bahasa or English. But I guess I will copy another from naturepacific.com here:

“Pets, like humans, suffer from a variety of health problems. Coconut oil offers a simple, inexpensive, and easy remedy to many of these problems. Over the years I’ve heard numerous testimonies from pet owners describing how coconut oil, as well as coconut meat, has been helpful. Coconut oil has shown to be of benefit to all types of animals including dogs and cats as well as horses, cows, and other farm animals. Some of the benefits owners have reported include reduced or elimination of body odor and bad breath; healthier skin and elimination of rashes, itchiness, etc.; coats becoming shiny and healthy looking; improved energy; better digestion; reduction of excess weight; relief from arthritic-like symptoms; cleared-up infections; expulsion of worms; and improved overall health. Applied topically it aids in the healing of cuts, bites, stings, and infections. There have also been some reports of healing from very serious conditions such as poisoning, cancer, and diabetes.”

Well I guess for now you have known about how amazing VCO is and why I always give it to my cats. The next question is, how we use it for our pets? Let them eat it? How much dose that we can give to a 3 kgs cat? Give it once a day or every once a week? Or just sweep it on their fur? How about the ears? Etc etc etc…

First of all, VCO is a natural remedy. So you don’t have to follow a strict rules like a pharmaceutical medicine to use it. You can give it once a day or once a week, you just have to see it what is best for your animal. For me, I give the stray cats once teaspoon each day. For my adopted cats, I only give them twice a week, one teaspoon each. You also can rub or sweep VCO on their coat or fur. It would help to improve their skin’s quality. And if you asked me about how to treat a skin sickness with VCO, I will also answer it to seek it on the internet because on some cases it might work but on the other it won’t. If it’s severe and you can’t do it properly, better take it to the vet. But VCO would help to eliminate ticks and fleas. Rub it to their fur, let them sunbathed outside in the morning and most of the ticks and fleas would fly away. But, it would still be best if you just use Revolution or Frontline or other types of medicine to eliminate all the bad stuff from your pet’s skin. And you can take a tiny bit of VCO on your fingers then rub it to your dog’s or cat’s ears. It would help to get rid of those bad stuffs on their ears. I even use VCO to treated scabies on cat and it worked well they even heal!

Everytime something bad is happening to my cat, VCO is my number one first aid kit. Then after that I can take them to the vet. After weeks you put VCO on their meal (or you let them lick it straight from the spoon by themselves), you will realized that they are much healthier and also their coats are soft and shiny. If you are in Indonesia, you can find VCO on a big supermarket or online or from me (LOL). And if you are not live in Indonesia, I guess you would find VCO on an organic market or online (guess Amazon have it).

 

Hope this post will help you and your animals

xx

High paws!

Leave a Reply

